During the weekend I really managed to spend money. I couldn't really afford it, but had to because everything is just so cheap =)

Since I'm pretty tired of dragging a suitcase on my travels and my framed hiking backpack is not a very good travelling companion, especially on flights, I have been planning to buy a travelling backpack for quite a while. And since the prices here are a bit more affordable than in Finland, I decided to buy one from here. Not a cheap Chinese though. Went through quite a few brands making backpacks especially desinged for travelling and tried to find out who is selling them here. Deuter had a pretty suitable pack for me, and it was even pretty easy to find a wholesaler. So on Friday I headed to Mong Kok and office of Overlander to check whether the pack was as good as it looked in pictures. After a brief comparison of couple different models and brands, the decision was quite easy and now I have a new traveling companion Deuter Traveller 60. I think it is quite a good compromise with good enough carrying system and very nice travelling features like hidable carrying system and removable daypack. And I purposefully did not buy the biggest pack on market not to have enough space for all the useless stuff. Though it was not cheap 920HK$:s, I hope it turns out to be well worth the money invested. After the Singapore-Malaysia-Thailand trip (27.12.-14.1.) I probably can give a recommendation whether it is any good.

My brand new travelling companion:
249870.jpg


On Saturday we (Michi, Renja, Henkka, Martin and I) headed to Shenzhen again to do some shopping and now we also had an address of a very nice spa/massage place. Again I kept the wheels of economy rolling and spend money on clothes and leather products. With Martin we found a shop selling very nice Chinese leather design brand Fortune Duck's products. Though they are not cheap in Chinese measures, but they are of very high quality.

After some serious shopping we headed for a relaxing massage. The place was Shangri-La Club and it was very nice indeed. Two hours massage costed 128rmb:s plus tip, which you are more or less forced to give at least 20. Massage includes access to sauna and bath facilities so if you are planning to go there reserve enough time for them too. One issue worth a mention though. In China, as perhaps most of you already know, there are no restrictions for smoking. So even in spa it is allowed to smoke everywhere, and I mean everywhere. There was a guy smoking a whole cigarette while taking a shower... The Chinedses...

Going in for a massage:
249905.jpg

And coming out very relaxed =)
249904.jpg