My holiday here in Hangzhou is closing to its end, and what have I done? Almost nothing... Unbeliveable where the time can go... For the beginning of the week I have been shopping and wandering in the city, that's pretty much it. Thank god there is the Shanghai formula trip still to come...

One of my goals here was to make a suit (or two), since my colleague from Nokia (Marko) had some very good experiences of the quality and priceses in one of the finest tailors here in Hangzhou. So on Sunday we went to the tailor (address is 326 Fengqi Road) with Martti and Kaisa (Kaisa speaks some Putonghua so she was our translator =). Marko had made his suit for less than 2500rmb:s, and I was expecting similar prices. Surprise surprise, the prices were 2000rmb:s only for the works, and the fabrique would have costed 3000-4000. It might be because we were all westerns and had no local with us, dunno. No thank you anyway.

On monday I got my new glasses, which are pretty nice compared to the price, and also bought a pair of jogging shoes. On Tuesday the quest for the suit continued. First I went to Martti's office and we went to a blinds' massage. It costed 30rmb:s for an hour, and was pretty nice. Probably not as efficient as normal Finnish massage, but still very relaxing and again the price was not too much =) After a quick lunch I "borrowed" Martti's assistant to negotiate with another (cheaper) tailor nearby the Nokia's office. With Martti's assistant help I finally could order a suit. The tailor even agreed to come with me to the silk market and bargain the silk. The only problem was that he didn't speak a word of English, so I really had no choice but take the fabrique he suggested =) The fabrique was not exactly what I had in mind, but close enough. Will see how neat the suit will be...

After the tailor, I found out that I had lost Kaisa's visiting (address or whatever, "käyntikortti") cards. It was not nice, and I'm still very sorried for that. Since I really don't speak any Putonghua it's impossible to take taxis without the cards. And since all my money went to the silk I was also out of money. Fortunately I had a credit card so I went to first atm to get some money. Surprise, the atm didn't work! At that point I was feeling very nice... But things tend to sort themselves out. After a while of wandering I found bank which atm:s have worked in HK. They worked here too, so I already had some money =) The only problem was that I couldn't get around in the city or back to the Rose Garden without the address cards... But a phonecall to my brother sorted that out. He printed me some address cards, and since I wasn't too far away I picked them up and was back on the track. But Kaisa's visiting cards were never found, of which I'm still very sorried =( (Advice: Do not borrow me anything you're not ready to lose... I'm very efficient in losing stuff...)

On Tuesday night the hard disc of my laptop broke down, so that's why I haven't been writing blog or being online. Wednesday went to shopping the hard disc and re-installing the software of my laptop. On the hard disc shopping trip I also did some hiking on the hills nearby the center and Westlake. Some scenery pictures from there:

201251.jpg

201253.jpg

201255.jpg

I'm pretty tired of wandering in the center already, so now I'm planning to go to a Safary park nearby. Hope that I'll see some lions and elephants there...